Rock Valley College's Phi Theta Kappa Chapter Shines at Illinois Regional Convention

Omicron Eta, the Phi Theta Kappa chapter of Rock Valley College, achieved significant recognition at the Illinois Regional Convention and Honors Institute held from May 31 to June 2 in Springfield, Illinois.

Phi Theta Kappa

Omicron Eta Phi Theta Kappa chapter representatives at the Illinois Regional Convention and Honors Institute

The convention included leadership training and seminars on the Honors Study Topic. The chapter was honored with multiple leadership awards during The Regional Hallmark Awards Ceremony held on Sunday, June 2.

Liana Vasquez, the 2023-2024 chapter president of Omicron Eta, received the Outstanding Officer Award and the Leader of Distinction Award. The Outstanding Officer Award is given to officers nominated by their chapters for their exemplary leadership skills and mastery of Phi Theta Kappa programming. The Leader of Distinction Award recognizes a Phi Theta Kappa member whose leadership significantly impacts the success of their chapter and the individuals within it.

Bethzy Felix Sanchez, the 2023-2024 Recording Officer for Omicron Eta, was honored with a Spirit Award. This award is given to a member whose actions embody Phi Theta Kappa's Hallmarks of fostering a collaborative team environment within the local chapter.

Tim Spielman, the chapter advisor for Omicron Eta, received the Horizon Award, which acknowledges advisors who have made outstanding leadership contributions to the Illinois Region of Phi Theta Kappa.

Highlighting their continuous dedication to excellence, Omicron Eta was recognized as a Five Star chapter with a notation of continuing merit. The Five Star designation represents the highest level of engagement in Phi Theta Kappa programs.

Phi Theta Kappa, founded in 1918, is the official honor society of two-year colleges. It provides recognition for academic excellence and opportunities for growth and development through scholarships, leadership training, and service programs.

The 2023-2024 officers for Omicron Eta are Liana Vasquez (President), Peyton Meyer (Vice President of Scholarship), and Bethzy Felix Sanchez (Recording Officer). Tim Spielman continues to provide invaluable guidance as the chapter advisor.

The recognition received at the Illinois Regional Convention reflects the hard work and dedication of Omicron Eta's members and leadership. Their achievements underscore the chapter's commitment to fostering academic excellence, leadership, and community service at Rock Valley College.