RVC President Honored for Commitment to Student Success

Rock Valley College President Dr. Howard Spearman will be honored with the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society (PTK) Paragon Award for New Presidents during PTK Catalyst 2023, the Society’s annual convention in Columbus, Ohio, April 20-22, 2023. The award recognizes college presidents who have shown support of student success initiatives leading to stronger pathways to completion, transfer, and employment. They have taken an active interest in supporting high-achieving students and developing student leaders on campus.

“The college presidents selected have students-first leadership styles and made it a priority to support student success both inside and outside the classroom,” says Phi Theta Kappa President and CEO Dr. Lynn Tincher-Ladner, “This award is special because it comes directly from the students, and it is evidence of the gratitude they feel for the support for them and students like them.”

Dr. Spearman is one of 28 recipients to receive this honor, selected from among 406 college presidents, chancellors, and CEOs eligible to receive this award. To be eligible for this award, college presidents and CEOs are new in their roles, having served less than three years. Recipients are nominated by students on their campus and are only eligible to receive the award once.

“Student success is at the heart of what we do at the community college, and it drives my work as college president,” said Dr. Spearman. “I am humbled and honored to receive this student-nominated recognition.”

About Phi Theta Kappa

Phi Theta Kappa is the premier honor society recognizing the academic achievement of students at associate degree-granting colleges and helping them to grow as scholars and leaders. The Society is made up of more than 3.8 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in 11 countries, with approximately 240,000 active members in the nation’s colleges. Learn more at ptk.org.