Championing Leadership: Recognizing Student Excellence at RVC

The ceremony for the RVC Student Life Leadership Awards took place on Wednesday, May 8, at the Stenstrom Student Center on the main campus. This event honored students who have displayed remarkable leadership qualities and a strong commitment to enriching campus life.

six honorees with their awards stand in front of a blue and black balloon arch with the college president at center

RVC President Dr. Howard J. Spearman celebrates with student honorees

These awards commend individuals who have left a meaningful mark through their participation in student organizations, clubs, and activities, along with their devoted service to the Rock Valley College community.

The following students were honored in 17 categories:

Arvee Spirit Award – Caleb Bloom, Gianna Lobato

Emerging Leader of the Year Award – Angely Bautista

Excellence in Collaboration Award – BSU/BMCI/ TRIO

Most Improved Student Organization Award – Molar Bears

Organizational Advisor of the Year Award – Sheila Ogbevire

Organizational President of the Year Award – Liana Vasquez

Outstanding Organizational Program Award – CAB Valentine’s Day Party, PTK – Honors in Action Project

Presidential Award for Organizational Excellence – Campus Activities Board

Presidential Award for Student Leadership (Female student leader of the year) – Jazmine Nathan

Presidential Award for Student Leadership (Male student Leader of the Year) – Juan Nogueda

Student Employee of the Year Award – Gabriel Claros

Rising Star Award - Margaret Torio, Sean Abarracoso

Conqueror Award - Kavonnie Dotson, Nori Barnes

Student Improvement Award- Timberlyn Turner, Michael Hanson

Surge Award- Bethzy Felix Sanchez, Ewan Bickford

Phoenix Award- Donavan Golden, Ahtziri Pina

Evolving Award- Crystal Robles, Irvin Guierrez

These awards serve to inspire and motivate students to continue their leadership journey, empowering them to make a difference in their communities and beyond.