Phi Theta Kappa Honors Spring Inductees

The 2023 Phi Theta Kappa Spring Induction Ceremony was not only a time to honor students for their high academic achievement, but it was also a time when two RVC leaders surprised one another to honor their dedication to student success.

RVC Spring Inductees

Phi Theta Kappa Honors Spring Inductees

Much to his surprise, RVC’s President, Dr. Howard Spearman, was presented with an honorary pin recognizing his long-standing commitment to RVC’s chapter of PTK. Tim Spielman, PTK Advisor, was the second surprise when Dr. Spearman honored him for more than two decades of exemplary service as the chapter’s advisor. 

During his keynote address, Dr. Spearman praised Tim for his dedication, “RVC’s chapter of PTK was chartered on April 28, 1976, and is considered the oldest continuous student organization on campus. Since 2002, Tim has served as the advisor. Under his leadership, the chapter has received approximately 50 regional, national, and international awards.”

To recognize Tim’s dedication and commitment to Phi Theta Kappa, an engraved brick will be placed in the Alpha Courtyard of Phi Theta Kappa International Headquarters in Jackson, Mississippi. In addition, Tim received a special honor pin to recognize his contributions to student success at RVC.

Following his keynote address, Dr. Spearman received the honorary PTK membership pin from Tim. “Since he first came to RVC, Dr. Spearman has been very supportive and student-focused. As president, he is making a concerted effort to change the culture of leadership at the college, and we appreciate those efforts.”

Following the surprise recognitions of Dr. Spearman and Tim Spielman, the students listed below joined the legacy of leadership at RVC through their induction into RVC’s Omicron Eta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa. To be formally inducted into Phi Theta Kappa, students must have completed at least 12 credit hours and have a minimum 3.5 cumulative GPA.

  • Regan Baird
  • Anthony Becerra
  • Madison Block
  • Morgan Bond
  • Audrey Brilinski
  • Philip Broski
  • Lexa Campbell
  • Sean Champion
  • Olivia Costello
  • Madison Cropper
  • Anna Dausman
  • Jacob Dausman
  • Gabrielle Dobek
  • Tyree Ellis
  • Bethzy Felix-Sanchez
  • Abbigale Fennessy
  • Vesta Ferguson
  • Miranda Fischer
  • Isabella Garrelts
  • Timothy Granderson
  • Mikayla Gray
  • Katelyn Guilfoyle
  • Kirsten Hage
  • Alexis Hall
  • Olivia Hammond
  • Jennifer Hazlewood
  • Aaron Henning
  • Isaac Hernandez
  • Aaron Hicks
  • Samantha Jacobs
  • Matthew Jacobson
  • Zachary Joiner
  • Benjamin Keho
  • Kristin Landerholm
  • Mazzerene Laplante
  • Tegan Lundington
  • Charlie Martini-Guse
  • Tracy Mason
  • Miguel Medina
  • Taw Meh
  • Samantha Metz
  • Kayle Mickey
  • Doriana Mierow
  • Alaina Neumann
  • Helaina Nimmo
  • Alyssa Novachek
  • Isaac Oldenburg
  • Hardik Patel
  • Kaia Peterson
  • Sofia Piscocama
  • Kennedy Powers
  • Trace Quinn
  • Fynn Remhof
  • Judy Sabido
  • Erin Schier
  • Haley Smith
  • Marilu Soto
  • Alexander Stanuch
  • Anna Stechschulte
  • Gabriella Sterenberg
  • Jonathon Stinson
  • Anthony Sturms
  • Lily Sweich
  • Nareysy Vallejo
  • Daniela Valles
  • Liana Vasquez
  • Meredyth Wayman
  • Melissa Weiand
  • Kathyrn Whitacre

Congratulations to all of this spring’s inductees. For more information on the Omicron Eta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, contact advisor Tim Spielman at or (815) 921-4104.