Rock Valley College
Rockford, Illinois


Academic Divisions


Allied Health & Technical Programs

Dean of Technical & Allied Health Programs: Rich Gocken

Division Office (Allied Health): (815) 921-3203
Division Office (Technical Programs): (815) 921-3203

Allied Health includes:

Technical Programs includes:


Dean of Communication: Dr. Lamata Mitchell

Division Office: (815) 921-3338

Communication includes:

Dean of Nursing: Ellen Storm
Division Office: (815) 921-3261
Nursing includes:


Social Science & Humanities

Dean of Social Sciences & Humanities: Ronald Geary

Division Office: (815) 921-3317
The Social Science and Humanities division of Rock Valley College includes the following departments and disciplines:

Social Science:


This division is also home to:

Business/Computers and Information Systems/
Engineering and Technology

Dean of Business, Computer Information Systems, Engineering and Technology Departments: Greg Wear

Division Office: (815) 921-3101

Business includes:

Computers and Information Systems includes:

Engineering and Technology includes:



Interim Dean of Mathematics: Rodger Hergert

Division Office: (815) 921-3510
Mathematics includes:

At Rock Valley College, we’ll help you discover your passion as you choose a major or program that fits your interests and aspirations. You will have many options from among our:

RVC has more than a dozen program divisions with faculty and staff who will be happy to sit down with you to discuss their programs and how they match with your educational goals.

In an effort to expand the offerings available to you, we also have more than 40 joint educational agreements with two-year colleges in Illinois and Wisconsin.

You’ll also have opportunities to expand your mind and broaden your worldview you can Study Abroad in such locations as China, Italy, Spain, Greece, and France.

Rock Valley College is accredited by The Higher Learning Commission and is a member of the North Central Association.

The college is recognized by the Illinois Community College Board and the Illinois Board of Higher Education.